Utmost Importance: The Emergent Church

I just had a new thought. I have been absent from the blogging world for a while, because I always seem to want that big, attention grabbing post, and I just haven’t had the inspiration for it (yet).

Anyway, I have not been posting about ideas and articles that I read, that I may have an opinion about because they just aren’t “blog worthy.”

Well, that will change. As they come to me, I will post them with the tag, “Utmost Importance.”  They are urgent reads that need attention in our culture today.  So here is one based on something  I just read on a blog.

From Solomons Porch – “You will not find statements of what our community believes on this site. Belief is a dynamic lived reality and doesn’t lend itself to website statements.” – Doug Padgitt (Leader of Solomon’s Porch Emergent Church)… What does this mean?

Dictionary.com defines belief as “confidence in the truth or existence of something not immediately susceptible to rigorous proof.”

So, is Doug saying that he doesn’t have confidence in his beliefs? What does he believe? Forget the part of “website statements”. Essentially, he is saying beliefs cannot be written down period because of the dynamic nature.

So, these churches and ministries that post a belief statement… is this not right?  What about the Bible?  Does Doug Padgitt and the Emergent Church not believe the Bible? Is the bible priniciples and beliefs wrong now in this age, since they were written down? Where does it stop?

I belief the Bible is the infallible, inerrant, inspired word of God. I believe that I am a sinner and it is only through God’s grace that I have hope. I believe in the saving power of Jesus Christ and the subsitutionary atonement. I believe in the power of the gospel to save the worst possible people in the world, according to who God has chosen, of which I am one.

That is the beginning of my beliefs and that is going on this website.

– Adam Smith

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

