Facing Your Giants

Have you ever seen the movie, Facing The Giants? If you haven’t, I would recommend you watch it. That is where I got the title for this blog, but this isn’t about the movie. This is about facing the giants in your own life.

I am going to define “giant” as something that is unusually great in size, power or influence; something that is daunting and oppressing.

So what are examples of a giant in one’s life? It could be anything likeworry, fear, feeling unwanted, money problems, job issues, marital/relationship issues, lust, feeling alone, grief, low self image, or undoubtedly a host of other issues that leave you feeling overwhelmed.

So how do we conquer these giants? You have to realize that you can’t face these alone. On the physical side, it helps to have someone who you can go to for help, who you can talk to openly and share your burdens. On the spiritual side, you must know that God is in control. While that may seem like an overused cliché, it really can be a comfort – knowing that God has a plan and that you don’t know it. To me, that is a huge relief. We live every day by the grace of God, even if we don’t realize it.

God’s grace and mercy in our lives is so infinite. It is my opinion that we can’t face our giants without Him. However, we can’t get to God without knowing Jesus Christ. God has made Christ our mediator (1 Cor. 5:21). If we truly know Jesus Christ – and I mean really know Him, not just head knowledge – then we can have comfort that God will hear us when we pray.

Consider the following passage:

For it is you who light my lamp; the Lord my God lightens my darkness. For by you I can run against a troop, and by my God I can leap over a wall. This God–his way is perfect; the word of the Lord proves true; he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him. For who is God, but the Lord ? And who is a rock, except our God?

– Psalm 18:28-31

The key is we have to wait on God. Isaiah 40:31 says, “but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint.”

God always has an answer for our prayers. He either says yes now, yes later, or no. But there is always an answer.

So, I am going to ask you to comment on this post in three areas:

  • Leave a comment if you are not a Christian. I can help explain to you what it means. I can’t offer a magical formula that will save you, but I can explain what it means.
  • Leave a comment if you need help praying for the giants in your life. I would love to pray for you.
  • Leave a comment telling me the giants in your life.

If you would like your comment to remain private and unpublished, just write “private” somewhere in your comment.

With God as our rock, through His grace and mercy, we can face our giants.

– Adam Smith

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

