Tear My World Apart

I find myself wondering why or how sometimes I can be so selfish. I have been so blessed in my life. And what do I do with those blessings? Not enough.

I have to ability to see – but I take God’s beauty in creation for granted.

I have the ability to hear – but I ignore what He tries to tell me.

I have the ability to speak – yet I don’t use that faithfully enough to spread the gospel.

I am amazed at the grace of God. Pure grace; nothing else to it – just grace. Why do I deserve anything? I don’t. Why does God love me? God loves me because He loves me. It’s that simple, and yet I forget it. Because of my pride, I fail to grasp just how undeserving I am.

Romans 9:16 says, “So then it depends not on human will or exertion, but on God, who has mercy.”

It is selfish of me to think that I can choose God. It is selfish of me to think that I can resist His will. Live for Him, die to yourself, pick up your cross, follow Him.

I need God to tear down every piece of myself. I need God to literally tear my world apart. God has a purpose and a plan for my life. I might think I have a plan, but I would be wrong.

“I cry out to God Most High, to God who fulfills his purpose for me.” – Psalm 57:2

“When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider: God has made the one as well as the other. Therefore, a man cannot discover anything about his future.” – Ecclesiastes 7:14 (NIV)

– Adam Smith

When times are good, be happy; but when times are bad, consider: God has made the one as well as the other. Therefore, a man cannot discover anything about his future.
Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

