It’s Just One Little “L”…! How Hard Can It Be?

Word versus world…you add that “l”, it completely changes the meaning. As Christians, we are called to live our lives according to the Word and not the world. I know from my own experience that this is easier said than done.

“Set your minds on things that are above, not on things that are on earth.” – Colossians 3:2

“…Do you not know that friendship with the world is enmity with God?…” – James 4:4

“Do not be conformed to this world…” – Romans 12:2

“…Abhor what is evil; hold fast to what is good.” – Romans 12:9

In these and so many other places, God calls us to live for Him, and not to live for ourselves in the world. So how about that question in the title – how hard can it be? It sounds like it might be easy. All we have to do is follow God’s ways and not the world’s ways. You aren’t naïve…we as people cannot follow God’s righteousness. We are sinful, and it is our nature to live according to the flesh (AKA “the world”).

You want to hear the good part? Jesus became flesh and “for our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” (2 Corinthians 5:21).

We have to dig into God’s Word and really learn about Him. That is the only way that we will begin to know His ways. I want my prayer to be this:

“Make me to know your ways, O Lord; teach me your paths.” – Psalm 25:4

On a final note, I was just reading something that pretty much knocked the wind out of me (why I had wind in me I will never know), so I thought I would share it with you…

“If Christians were to spend as much time in their prayer closet as they do surfing on the internet or blogging, think of how on fire the church would be and how much the Lord could do in and through His Saints.”

Wow…

World versus Word…what does God demand? God doesn’t ask, He commands!

– Adam Smith

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

