The Faith of Job

…Shall we indeed accept good from God, and shall we not accept adversity?…

– Job 2:10 (NKJV)

I was reading in Job today (part of a new Bible reading plan that I am doing), and the above verse really stuck out to me. I usually quote verses on here using the ESV version, but I am using NKJV for my study and so I will use that one.

People (when I say people, I mean me) are so very quick to accept good and blessings from God, but are just as quick to not trust in Him during the bad times or times that are difficult.

Along the same lines, I am quick to go to God in prayer when times are difficult, but am I as quick to go to Him when things are going well? Hmmm.

As I read through Job, I realize there are so many people in this world that are going through trials that I will never ever know. People in this world who have given up more to follow God than I could ever imagine. People in Africa who would lose everything to follow God. People in Russia who could literally die for publically proclaiming Christ.

And here I am worrying about some little issue in my life, an “oh what I am going to do” moment, that literally means nothing for eternity. Oh how I wish I could have the faith of Job or of Paul. I can only long for that as I work to draw closer to God.

Well, I actually meant for this to be less a “bashing of myself,” but that looks like what it turned into.

Happy Easter everyone. Let’s not forget what we are celebrating (but feel free to send me chocolate anyway).  :)

– Adam Smith

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

