What Defines Me?

Speaking from a guy perspective, there are certain things that define us (guys). We can be defined by the friends we have, what kind of activities we are involved in, or even our status in the community. Mostly though, I think we are defined by our job. We tell people what we do, and that is pretty much who we are.

I know that I have always been defined by my job – or so I thought. If someone asks me what I do, I wouldn’t tell them that I work at this place ___ (fill in the blank). I would always say that I am a ___ (profession – fill in the blank). That’s what I am, it’s not just that I work at a certain place.

I guess it all comes down to selfishness. I have always wanted to be seen by people based on what I do…as if that makes me who I am. But what right do I have to do that? I have no right to do that. If it is all for my selfish ego, then what am I gaining? Nothing.

I am a creation of God. I am defined by His love and His grace and His mercy. Only God has the right to define who I am. I am pretty much a loser on my own. No matter what I do or how I try to do it, if I do it on my own, then it is all for nothing. The only thing that really matters in the end is if I had the faith enough to repent and turn from every sin and sin pattern in my life and put full trust in the living God who sent His only Son to die FOR me so that I might have life eternal. Everything apart from Him is nothing.

My prayer for my life today is basically Phil. 3:8:

“Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ…”

I want to be defined by who I am in Christ, not by some worldly standard of stuff or a job, or anything else. I want to echo the words of Mary in Luke 1:46-49:

“…My soul magnifies the Lord, and my spirit rejoices in God my Savior, for he has looked on the humble estate of his servant. For behold, from now on all generations will call me blessed; for he who is mighty has done great things for me, and holy is his name…”

I think when I truly realize what defines me, then that will be an awesome moment.

– Adam Smith

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

