All For Jesus – A Resolution for 2009

This was a song written by Mary James as a New Year’s resolution in 1871. She said that this song was a personal expression of her devotion to God; that all that she was going to do in the coming year would be for His glory.

I think this can still apply as a New Year’s resolution for 2009. May everything we do this year be all for our Savior and our King!

All for Jesus, all for Jesus!
All my being’s ransomed powers:
All my thoughts and words and doings,
All my days and all my hours.

Let my hands perform His bidding,
Let my feet run in His ways;
Let my eyes see Jesus only,
Let my lips speak forth His praise.

Worldlings prize their gems of beauty,
Cling to gilded toys of dust,
Boast of wealth and fame and pleasure;
Only Jesus will I trust.

Since my eyes were fixed on Jesus,
I’ve lost sight of all beside;
So enchained my spirit’s vision,
Looking at the Crucified.

Oh, what wonder! how amazing!
Jesus, glorious King of kings,
Deigns to call me His belovèd,
Lets me rest beneath His wings.

Christ offers what other religions cannot. To illustrate, think of a man who can’t swim, falling into a lake. What do other religions say to him?

Confucius says, ‘Profit by your experience.’ Buddha’s word for him? ‘Struggle!’ What are the teachings of Hinduism for him? ‘You may have another opportunity in your next incarnation.’ And finally, the fatalistic words of Mohammed, ‘Whether you sink or survive, it is the will of God.’ The God of the Bible gently says to this soul: ‘Take my hand’.

For this reason, Paul wrote:

“I consider everything a loss compared to the surpassing greatness of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord.”

Philippians 3:8

Happy New Year everybody!

– Adam Smith

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “All For Jesus – A Resolution for 2009

  1. p4cs says:

    Thanks for the solid post. Stay encouraged.

    Blessings,
    David Zook
    http://www.p4cs.wordpress.com
    A Physical for a Christian Soul

  2. wistle says:

    I like your blog! Check mine out:

    http://100steps.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

