Remembering September 11

Do you remember where you were on September 11, 2001? I sure do. I was a senior in high school. I was sitting in Mrs. Lentz’ ABLS (American Business Legal Systems) class at Powell High School. Our principal was in the class speaking on this day – although I can’t remember what he was talking about.

I guess it seemed like a typical day, nothing unusual. Then sometime around 9:00 AM, we were told to turn on the TV, and that’s when we all saw the startling truth. Our lives were never going to be the same.

I can vaguely remember the Oklahoma City bombing in 1995 (I was in fifth grade). Although I can remember it happening, I was too young to really comprehend the “realness” of it. But the terrorist attack on the WTC, I could definitely comprehend that one. I remember at first, I thought that it was some horrific accident. Then, the second plane hit, and I don’t remember exactly what I thought at the time, but it was definitely no accident. Then of course, the plane hitting the Pentagon, and the plane going down in Pennsylvania.

I remember going to my second class of the day and seeing the first tower collapse. I don’t remember much of the rest of that day, or the days immediately following September 11, but I can definitely remember where I was the morning of September 11, 2001.

May we never forget the lives that were lost that day.

– Adam Smith

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

