The Commercialization of Christmas

As Christmas approaches, I think about the relentless Anglo-Saxon economic demand for more sales and more profit every year, year after year. I can see all the bells, the lights, and the whistles so to speak of the area being decorated for Christmas, and it pretty much makes me sick.

What have we, including myself at times, done with Christmas? Look at how we have commercialized it, or turned it into nothing more than a glorified fable. Christmas is not represented by lights, Christmas trees, rudolph, Santa Clause, or even a little drummer boy. Allow me to further explain my point.

I tend to analyze music and words to songs probably more than I should. I am thinking right now of a couple of Christmas songs I heard recently, and I got into the habit of analyzing their words. The first one was “The Little Drummer Boy.” This song is in no way Biblically based. There was no little drummer boy. I am not saying that it is a bad song, but if you claim the song to be based on scripture, or that “Jesus must have loved the music,” then you are pretty much a moron (I say that with love – love as God defines it, not the world).

The second song I heard was “We Three Kings,” you know, the one about bringing gifts and all that. First, there were no kings bringing gifts to Jesus, they were wise men. And, nowhere in the Bible does it say that there were three of them, this is of course assumed, but is not stated anywhere in scripture (Read Matthew 2:1-12). Again, not a bad song in the sense of the music, but don’t look for it to provide Biblical truth. I think that these two songs are just an example of how people have tried to commercialize Christmas and make it more “user friendly.”

Moving on from music, here is a tagline that I absolutely cannot stand: “Jesus is the reason for the season.” Again, just part of the stupid commercialization of Christmas. I cannot stand to see that phrase anywhere and here’s why: whoever made this up has taken a name, a name which is above every name, a holy name, Jesus Christ and made it part of a stupid rhyme. In no way should you take the holy name of Jesus and trivialize it down to a tagline!

Let me tell you where my focus will be this Christmas. It will not be on the manger. It will be on the cross of Christ. 1 Timothy 2:5 says, for there is one God and one Mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus, who gave Himself a ransom for all, to be testified in due time.

This is the reason that Christ was born on that day. He was born to become a Mediator for us to allow us to come before a holy and just God, and to allow us the chance to be in His presence forever. He was born to give up Himself as a ransom – not to pay the ransom, but to give Himself as ransom – for us.

This is where my focus will be this Christmas, and hopefully some of you will join me in that. Praise be to God, forever and ever.

– Adam Smith

Leave a Reply

