The Awesomeness of God

Awesome (adj.) – Inspiring awe; causing awe or terror; inspiring wonder or excitement;

I am not awesome; you are not awesome. That was not an awesome concert; that is not an awesome car!

According to Paul Washer, awesome means abject terror.

The fear of the Lord: It doesn’t mean reverence, it means trembling and fear! His name is Awesome! It strikes fear into the heart of man. Do you tremble at His word, or do you look for loopholes around it?

If God doesn’t strike fear into your heart, if He is a comfortable God of yours, then He is not God at all! He can do nothing for you! But you like Him, because He can do nothing to you; but that is not the God of the Bible.

It is only through His awesome grace that we are not already in hell. 1 Peter 1:3: Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! In His great mercy He has given us new birth into a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead…

What have we done in this day? We market the name of Jesus like it was Tommy Hilfiger; we wear it on our clothing; we buy cups with Jesus’ name on it – A name that is above every name! His name is not a symbol, it is not a marketing device to sell clothing.

God is Holy, meaning that He is separated from all moral defilement and is hostile toward it. Don’t bring God down to our level! He is Holy! If you bring God down on any level, you have created an idol.

God is in a high and lofty place. Yes, you can call Him Father! This is the best way to approach Him is exactly what Jesus taught us in Matthew: Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be Your name! Never forget that Your Father is in heaven!

God is not your good buddy, He is not the man upstairs; You and Jesus ain’t got your own thing going; Jesus is not your homeboy and you are not down with Jesus.

He is God! Holy is the only attribute of God in scripture that is repeated. The Bible does not say God is love, love, love; it does not say God is nice, nice, nice; but it does say that God is Holy, Holy, Holy!

The Holiness of God transcends any idea that we have of Holiness. Nothing goes higher than the Holiness of God;

God is perfect; He cannot tolerate sins; He cannot even tolerate one sin. How many times did Adam & Eve sin before they were cast out of the presence of God? Once.

Holiness means that God is not ordinary, He is not casual, He is not common, and He is not to be taken lightly.

The only thing I can say at this point is that God’s name is Awesome!

Oh Father what have I done? I am guilty of taking Your Holy name lightly. Forgive me Father. I come before You with fear in my heart. I know that I have a relationship with You because of Your justice and Your mercy – sending Your only Son to be a propitiation for me – it is only by Your grace. Jesus paid a debt that He did not owe and a debt that I could not pay. Oh God, I don’t want to have my best life now, I don’t want to become a better me! I want less of me, and more of You. I seek Your will and I am laying hold of Your promises until You come down again. I am so thankful Lord. In Jesus’ name that I pray – a name that is above every name, Amen.

References:

Isaiah 57:15

Ps. 111:9

Isaiah 6:3

Romans 3:23-26

This blog was inspired from a sermon by Paul Washer, and while most of this is his preaching, I wrote some of it containing my own ideas.

– Adam Smith

One thought on “The Awesomeness of God

  1. animal says:

    Please oh please keep writing! Your articles are wonderful!

Leave a Reply

