Life Verses

Usually, I try to write to make other people think, or to lift up others in some way, shape or form. Well, this one has lifted me up just by writing it, so praise God for that! I wanted to write a little bit about life verses. What is a life verse? Here is what I recommend you look for when trying to determine a life verse: 1) Your verse should be a verse from the Bible that has meaning to you – maybe it has inspired you in the past, and the like; and 2) You should try to fit yourself to be what your life verse says, not try to fit your verse into your life.

My life verse is Romans 12:2 – actually I have expanded it to include the verse before it. I am going to use the Holman Christian Standard Version, though I am not set on just one version of the Bible, as I believe many (not all) can offer something in the way that God speaks.

My verses are Romans 12:1-2 (HCSV):

“Therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, I urge you to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God; this is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this age, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may discern what is the good, pleasing, and perfect will of God.”

I discovered that these verses should be what I pattern my life after when I realized that I really do seem to not fit in much to the pattern of the world. The world says “drink,” yet I do not drink; the world says go to parties and have a good time, yet I don’t do the party scene; The world says if it feels good do it, yet I am saving myself for marriage; of course that is not an exhaustive list, but it covers the main contention points I think between God and the world. So I make it my aim to present my body as a living sacrifice to the Most High God as my spiritual worship. I am not conformed to the pattern of the world, and I work to daily transform my mind so that I can tell what is the good, pleasing, and perfect will of God.

Is it possible to change your life verse over time? Yes! I think as a follower of God grows that new inspirations from the Word of God will be discovered. A previous life verse of mine was Joshua 1:9. I still love that verse and what God is trying to show me through it, but it is not my primary life verse – at least at the moment.

I urge you, if you don’t have a life verse (or verses, as you may have more than one), to really dig in to the most awesome word of God, and see where the Spirit leads.

I was going to write out some verses below to give you suggestions of other life verses, and maybe you could find one you wanted to dig deeper on, however I am just going to write where the verse can be found, and you will have to look it up yourself – who knows, maybe you’ll find a different one along the way!

Matthew 6:33

Ephesians 2:8-9

John 8:12

Joshua 1:9

Psalm 27:1

John 15:5

Psalm 46:1

Hebrews 13:5

Isaiah 40:31

John 14:6

Mark 8:34

Proverbs 3:5

Philippians 1:20

Psalm 17:5

Romans 7:24-25

2 Corinthians 5:9

Psalm 19:14

Galatians 2:20

Philippians 3:14

Philippians 4:8

Philippians 3:7-11

Hebrews 10:23

These are just some examples of some other people’s life verses. I didn’t even know some of them; I could really feel God’s presence as I looked up these verses, so I really hope you all are inspired by what God is trying to tell you through this.

Let me know of your life verse, I would love to hear it!

– Adam Smith

12 thoughts on “Life Verses

  1. […] most recent post is Life Verses, discussing what life verses are, and how to find them. Posted in Moderate Christian […]

  2. Christy Luttrell says:

    Thank You Adam. You have inspired me to search for a life verse. I have always wanted to have one…but have never set down to really read and find one. I will let you know what God reveals in His Word to me. Christy.

  3. Kalungi Allen says:

    Thanks Adam. I never had a life verse in my life. I am going to search and let you know the outcome.

    Allen

  4. Chelsea says:

    Hi!
    I have been trying to find a life verse as a part of my college/ youth group as I am involved with both. The Youth Pastor told us we should start searching for one, and I had a few that came to mind, but none of them really seemed to ‘jump-out’ at me. Being a newer christian, I had never heard of a life verse. So I googled life verses, and when this came up, I felt so much inspiration and amazement about how many different verses could be fit into so many different situations. This got me to thinking and I wanted to just keep reading.I have read more than ever and I have yet to find one, but when I do, you will surely know.

    Thank You and God Bless.

  5. Bridget says:

    I looked through the verses at the end of your blog and 2 Corinthians 5 caught my eye. I want the whole chapter to be mine! It says that we need to be content in all circumstances because we will all have to attest for our actions on Judgment Day and how we need to correct our lives and relationships with others since God corrected his relationship with us with sending Christ to the cross. Thank you for your blog; I’ve been meaning to pick out a life verse.
    Thank you!

    (Have a blessed day!)

  6. Annalise says:

    Good points! My motto in life is “All for Jesus”…that means EVERYTHING…my time, thoughts, words, actions, choices, possessions…it’s all His to do with as He pleases and I’m His to use as He will. So my life verse is

    Matthew 6:33 But seek first the Kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.

    I want to put God first in ALL I do and then whatever He choose to let come into my life will follow as a result of my obedience to Him. Thanks for this reminder!

  7. Rali M says:

    Great writeup. Mine has always been from Proverbs 4:23 NIV “Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.”

  8. Jen says:

    I just got my life verse…I’m so excited. It is Proverbs 3:5-6. Just wanted to share!

  9. Adam Smith says:

    Hi Jen, thanks for sharing. Good life verses there.

  10. brian says:

    There is a Christian run company who will print your life verse on a t-shirt for you – you can check it out at http://www.printyourverse.com -its family run by a family with 5 kids :)

  11. Jonah says:

    Hey Adam, this is Jonah used to go to LC revolution. just looking up life versus to send to people and came across your blog. thanks and see you on Wednesday at unite.

  12. Ashley says:

    Thank you Adam for your comments, I enjoyed reading. My oldest son, who is named for the Jordan, after the river & I chose his verse for the reason I chose his name – he brought joy flowing into my life in a very hopeless time – I named him for the Jordan because of 3 significant stories in that river: Naaman’s cleansing, the parting of the Jordan for the Israelites before the mighty battle of Jericho, and of course, the baptism of Jesus. His verse is: “There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God, the holy place, where the Most Hight dwells. God is withing her, she will not fall; God will help her at break of day.” Psalm 46:4-5 (But I think he is leaning toward a favorite verse of mine – Jeremiah 29:11.)

    For my younger children, I have asked them to choose their own life verse as they have come to know Christ as their Savior.

    My middle son chose 1 Samuel 12:24 “Only fear the Lord and serve Him faithfully with all your heart. For consider what great things He has done for you.” I love that he chose this verse because I had trouble carrying him to term and kept going into labor – between 24 & 36 weeks. Being able to carry him to 36 weeks was a beautiful blessing from God.

    My daughter just accepted Christ and has chosen 1 Peter 3:3-4 “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as braided hair and the wearing of gold jewelry and fine clothes. Instead it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.”

Leave a Reply

