What Is Love?

I have had to take time off from writing for the past couple of weeks because of a heavy school and work load. I have a little more free time right now, so here are two new blogs that I have been working on. I am going to be writing less now though, until school is done, and I have more time to really concentrate on writing.

What is love? This has been the question on my mind recently. When I say the word “love,” in this context I don’t necessarily mean love between two people; I am more or less talking just in general about love.

I like to write and I write a lot whether it’s in this blog, another blog, or just in a journal. There are some instances when I write that I like Spanish more than English. When talking about love is one of those instances. Spanish has more than one word for love depending on what the situation is. English just has one word for love. It is the same word, whether you are saying, “I love these Doritos,” or if you are saying “I love you” after 42 years of marriage. Same word, however, I believe there are two meanings there…I may be the only one though, so moving on…

What is love? The Bible defines love in 1 Corinthians 13:4-8: Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in truth; bears all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails.

I think that those verses describe the fullness of love. Love is action, not abstraction. I believe love protects, believes, hopes, and endures.

Now the question becomes, Can you see love? My answer to that question is most definitely!

  • Love is a mother who cares enough to get up at 2:30 in the morning and check the closet for monsters that are not there.
  • Love is the nurse at the hospital who stays past her double shift to hold the new teen mother in her arms when it seems the whole world has crashed down on her.
  • Love is the father who plays catch with his son after working all day
  • Love is the counselor explaining how God can forgive her after having an abortion.
  • Love is when the husband cares for his wife after she was declared brain dead from a car accident – all because his wedding vows said “in sickness and health, until death do us part.”
  • Love is God – who loves us so much to send his only son to die in our place – to pay a debt that he didn’t owe and we could not pay!
  • Love is finding the person who seems hopelessly lost and explaining what real love is. God is love.
  • Love is giving of yourself to another

When you say “I love you,” what does that mean to you? Do you say it flippantly or does it have real meaning?

– Adam Smith

2 thoughts on “What Is Love?

  1. Christy says:

    That is awesome to think about….How could we throw such a word arround carelessly? How can you say you love when you don’t know the meaning of the word? I know that I am loved by God and that I love my daughter and my family. I also love my Church and my friends. But when I say that I love something else besides those things it seems so petty. Like my car or my cat….All of those things mean nothing. If you don’t have love then you don’t have anything. Does that make sense?

  2. Adam Smith says:

    It makes perfect sense to me

Leave a Reply

