More on Starbucks

This thing with Starbucks – read my previous post – has really gotten me thinking some more about it. I have been doing research on some other “The Way I See It” stories that are printed on their cups. First, here is the worst one that I have found so far:

“My only regret about being gay is that I repressed it for so long. I surrendered my youth to the people I feared when I could have been out there loving someone. Don’t make that mistake yourself. Life’s too damn short.” – Armistead Maupin, author (Story#43).

And here is the one that I like the best, from Rick Warren (author of The Purpose Driven Life):

“You are not an accident. Your parents may not have planned you, but God did. He wanted you alive and created you for a purpose. Focusing on yourself will never reveal your real purpose. You were made by God and for God, and until you understand that, life will never make sense. Only in God do we discover our origin, our identity, our meaning, our purpose, our significance and our destiny.” – Rick Warren (#92).

That one (#92) got more outrage than any other “The Way I See It Story.” The quotes from two of these people are below. Somehow it didn’t surprise me that these people come from California.

1. “I fully believe that it’s an inspirational and thought-provoking comment, but I am not a Christian, and I don’t appreciate having God’s Plan preached to me via my coffee cup. It’s one thing to read about someone’s point of view, but it’s quite another to read a blatantly religious statement informing me that my purpose is to serve God.” – Denice Paxton, Santa Ana, Calif.

2. “It is when Mr. Warren lets the reader know that they are nothing until they have accepted God as their creator that I find offense with. … Despite the disclaimer that his comment may not align with company policy, I am disappointed that such a powerful organization would allow these thoughts to be disseminated. Jeers to you, Starbucks, for allowing Mr. Warren to be one of your series commentators.” – Lisa Tennenbaum, San Francisco

There are also a couple other stories on the cups that have drawn some controversy. Here they are:

The Way I See It #230 – “Heaven is totally overrated. It seems boring. Clouds, listening to people play the harp. It should be somewhere you can’t wait to go, like a luxury hotel. Maybe blue skies and soft music were enough to keep people in line in the 17th century, but Heaven has to step it up a bit. They’re basically getting by because they only have to be better than Hell” – Joel Stein, columnist for the Los Angeles Times.

The Way I See It #347 – “Why in moments of crisis do we ask God for strength and help? As cognitive beings, why would we ask something that may well be a figment of our imaginations for guidance? Why not search inside ourselves for the power to overcome? After all, we are strong enough to cause most of the catastrophes we need to endure.” – Bill Schell, Customer from Ontario, Canada.

To address #230, all I have to say about it is that it definitely seems like this is the world’s view. No where in the Bible does it say anything about sitting on clouds playing a harp. I am sure Mr. Stein has at least one college degree, and yet I am sitting here thinking, how can someone be so ignorant?

And to #347…Another world view, people believing that they can be self-sufficient. Well, I hate to break the bad news to you people, but when we rely on ourselves, we will fail every time. Yeah, I didn’t say sometimes, I said every time!

Who would have thought one cup of Starbucks on a Wednesday morning could have sparked my brain? Go figure. Let me know what you all think.

– Adam Smith

Leave a Reply

