Starbucks In The AM

I was having some Starbucks this morning, and I always like to read the cups for those “The Way I See It” stories. Story #250 says…

“In reality hell is not such an intention of God as it is an invention of man. God is love and people are precious. Authentic truth is not so much taught or learned as it is remembered. Somewhere in your pre-incarnate consciousness you were loved absolutely because you were. Loved absolutely, and in reality, you still are! Remember who you are!” – Bishop Carlton Pearson

When I first read this, I thought it was pretty good. Then, after re-reading it a couple of times, I started to realize that maybe it is not as good as it seems…

Why was it good the first time, and not so good later? I saw that, at first, it appealed to my emotions. I mean, who wants to believe that God created hell, when it is much more appealing to believe that it was an invention of man?

Then, after re-reading it, my logic of what I know started to peek from deep inside my still sleepy 7:00 AM brain!

Hell, in fact was not an invention of man, hell was God’s way of saying that whoever does not believe in Him, will spend an eternity away from him. Although God is love (1 John 4:8), he is still a just God (Hebrews 10:30)

I plan on posting more about this after I get a better chance to reflect on it – because right now I am still sleepy, and I am procrastinating studying for a test that I have in about 2 hours – I am thinking about studying, that counts right?? :)

6 thoughts on “Starbucks In The AM

  1. (1) Starbucks is a modern liberal institution of higher yearning.
    (2) Carlton is a modern liberal “theologian.”

    Starbucks caffeine seems to have begun resuscitating your mind. Starbucks? What were you thinking? ;-)

    Starbucks wants a “feelgood” generation.
    Carlton wants a “feelgood” religion.

    So, they go together like coffee and cream, so to speak.

    Slick, these liberals, eh?

    ExP(Jack)

  2. Christy says:

    I have never paid attention to the cups I just drink the coffee. I am glad you notice things like that. Hope you did well on your test.

  3. godalone says:

    Great insight re. gibberish on the Starbucks cup. Glad the coffee woke you up to the truth. :)

    Looking forward to your further reflections on this.

    Blessings –

  4. […] on Starbucks This thing with Starbucks – read my previous post – has really gotten me thinking some more about it. I have been doing research on some other […]

  5. Anna says:

    Interesting! That was definitely a man made theology of hell.

  6. Anna says:

    ….umm, maybe all theologies are man-made. :D That statement did not sound right after re-reading. I will have to think on that. Maybe I meant something more like, that was definitely one man’s personal theory on hell. Oh well, hopefully you know what I meant. :)

Leave a Reply

