Why?

I work with children as my job (at least through college). At times they may irritate me, they might work on my nerves, but in the end, they are still children! I can see their innocence, their lack of knowledge – if you will – about the world that they are in.

I think it is for this reason that I keep doing my job to help them build character and life skills, and have a little fun along the way.

Sometimes I think that I may not want kids of my own because of the way I see some parents raise their kids – I guess I am afraid that I will mess up. Or maybe I figure that if I have kids, that my “life” (as in social life) will go away. Maybe it will, and maybe that’s not a bad thing.

Sometimes I still wonder why I continue to work with kids, when there have to be far easier jobs out there…and then the reality of just how innocent they are comes crashing down, and I am reminded why I do what I do.

I ran across this headline a few minutes ago: A 3-year-old East Knoxville boy was shot accidentally Saturday night in an apparent drive-by shooting about 6:45 p.m.

I tried to think about what I was doing at 6:45 tonight, I think I was around campus at that time hanging out with friends, you know how it is…I was having fun, and all this kid was doing was getting shot?!

What is the point…

Leave a Reply

