Why I Hate Joel Osteen’s Preaching

This piece is purely an opinion on my part about why I hate Joel Osteen’s preaching. You say “Whoa, hate is a little harsh isn’t it?” No, I do not believe it is because Joel Osteen is a false preacher and his preaching has the dangerous potential of leading people away from the God of the Bible. PLEASE don’t misunderstand what I am saying here. I do NOT hate Joel Osteen. That is not what I said. I said I hate his preaching. Now let me explain my point.

It is our responsibility to spread the gospel that Jesus Christ is the only way to true salvation, that we are all dead in sin. Salvation is about the glory of God. Joel Osteen doesn’t preach this. In my opinion, the thing that makes Joel Osteen a false preacher is the fact that he does not preach the true gospel – or I should say he does not preach the true purpose of the gospel.

According to Tim Challies, life is meant to glorify God, not to bring blessing and ease to the individual. I would agree with this statement. Osteen’s book, “Become a Better You” seems to emphasize bringing blessing and ease to the individual.

In case you haven’t read the book, it is divided into seven areas: 1) Keep pressing forward, 2) Be positive toward yourself, 3) Develop better relationships, 4) Form better habits, 5) Embrace the place where you are, 6) Develop your inner life, and 7) Stay passionate about life.

This is pretty much like all of the other “self-help” books out there, except for one glaring difference. This one is supposed to be built upon the Bible and it is publicized as such, and that is very dangerous.

Here is what Osteen is teaching in this book: “We’ve all sinned, failed, and made mistakes,” he says, “But many people don’t know they can receive God’s mercy and forgiveness.” That sounds reasonable right? Sure. But, he goes on to say, “As long as you’re doing your best and desire to do what’s right according to God’s Word, you can be assured God is pleased with you.” Now I ask, is it enough to just desire to do right? Is God really pleased with those who sin, but desire to do right? I would submit to you that He is not pleased with just that. God is so holy that He cannot even look upon a sin. I got this question from Paul Washer and it stands up to the Bible: How many times did Adam and Eve sin before they were cast out of the presence of God? The answer is once.

Wow, I kind of got off track a little bit there. Back to my original question: What makes Osteen’s preaching wrong?

Here is the question: what is the purpose of the Bible? The Bible is the inspired word of God, it is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction and instruction in righteousness, that the man of God might be equipped for every good work (based on 2 Timothy 3:16-17). The reason for our existence is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever.

Osteen says that the Bible is full of common sense that can help us in our every day lives. Yes, this is true I believe, but that is not the purpose! The Bible is theology and doctrine. It is an instruction manual so people can learn who God is, what He has done, who we are and what we must do to be saved so that He can be glorified.

According to Osteen, the gospel is letting people know that God loves them, that Jesus came, that we can overcome any obstacle, and that we can be forgiven for our mistakes. This is a huge watering down of language. What Osteen says is not the gospel. The gospel is the good news of the forgiveness of sins. Osteen needs to realize that mistakes are not the same as sin.

Osteen says that he doesn’t see how beating people down can help them grow closer to God. In my opinion, this is a “straw man.” The gospel does not beat people down, we are already down. The gospel exposes our position and shows how God will lift us from that.

Osteen says that he believes hell is a real place and that it is separation from God. This is true, it is a real place and it is separation from God. So why doesn’t he warn people of this? Osteen is not taking into consideration what the separation from God really is. It is only by God’s general grace and goodness that I am able to use my hands to type right now; that I am even able to breathe is by God’s general grace. When His general grace is gone, that is separation from God. Even our ability to have light to see right now is by the grace of God. That light will be gone when God’s grace is gone. It will be utter darkness in hell. Separation from God is the worst possible thing that can happen to a human and Osteen needs to realize this.

Osteen preaches the American dream. He preaches that God wants us to be blessed, to increase and to be successful in our career. While this may be partly true, the American dream is not God’s plan. He wants us to take the gospel and preach it to the uttermost parts of the earth. He wants us to be salt and light in our career. The purpose of the gospel is that we can be Godly in Christ Jesus so that He may be glorified.

There is a difference in the way that Osteen preaches and the way that historical Christianity has been preached. The difference is called expository preaching, taking a verse (or series of verses) and explaining and going deeper on the meaning; verses: here is what the Bible says and here is how it applies to your life. It is a different approach to Scripture and it is a different approach to God.

In an interview, Osteen used the example of Abraham saying that he was the wealthiest man in the east. This is true, but this is Old Testament. God did bless people in the Old Testament, under that old covenant, with physical wealth. In Ephesians 1, under the new covenant, we see spiritual blessings which are far superior, in my opinion.

Is providing for our family important? Yes, it is. Am I saying that we should not advance in our careers? No, but that is not the emphasis or the purpose of the gospel. I believe the purpose of the gospel is to get us saved, to glorify God, to grow in the process of sanctification, and to share the gospel with others in order that God can be glorified.

What Osteen preaches is so far from the real good news, that it isn’t good at all. It is man centered and built around men. The gospel does not center around men; the gospel centers around God.

Osteen’s preaching is what Tim Challies (I think) calls skyscraper preaching, because it is constructed building one story on top of another.

When you are evaluating Osteen or any other preacher for that matter, you should ask three questions. First, how often is Jesus mentioned? For this purpose, a simple tally will suffice; second, is Jesus the subject of the verbs? Is Jesus the one who acts, or are you? Third, what are the verbs? What has Jesus done and what is He doing?

To sum it up, I believe that Joel Osteen is a false preacher. He is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. Does he realize it? I don’t know. But while some of what he says is not necessarily false (a lot of it is heresy, and possibly blasphemy), he does not preach the true purpose of the gospel, and that is why I hate his preaching.

Finally, it seems to me that Osteen’s preaching is good advice rather than good news. What makes him different from Dr. Phil? Well, nothing except that he (Osteen) operates under the premise that what he preaches will get you saved. I would disagree, but ultimately it is up to God how people hear Mr. Osteen’s message. There is a part of me that feels sorry for Mr. Osteen. I believe that he was under his father for so long, that he doesn’t know what true, Biblical, expository preaching is. He has never been to college, much less seminary, and so he has not had a chance to experience great men of faith who preach and teach the true purpose of the gospel. If you follow Joel Osteen, take some time and examine the true purpose of the gospel based on historic Christianity.

Joel Osteen is the poster boy for shallow, feel-good, meaningless, powerless, gospel-free Christianity.

To see a sample of some of what Joel Osteen preaches, download the document below. It is a partial sermon from Joel Osteen with my response to it: Osteen Response

- Adam Smith

Tagged , , , , , , ,

32 thoughts on “Why I Hate Joel Osteen’s Preaching

  1. Tom Humes says:

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Tom Humes

  2. Greetings Adam and thank you for standing upon the unadulterated word of God. You have done an excellent job of thwarting Mr Osteen’s deceptive teaching with the clear teaching of God’s word. The way it should be done I might add.

    I am a pastor of a small community church in Atmore Alabama and have pastored for some 21 years. I have carefully watched as we have seen another gospel rise to preeminence in America. A gospel of prosperity and blessing. A gospel that would not carry one through what our brothers and sisters are enduring in China, India, Pakistan, North Korea, Nigeria, etc….

    You on the other hand have found a firm foundation upon the word of God. It will endure any situation. Continue to trust it in the midst of adversity.

    From your avatar (picture) you seem to be young in age, but wise above your years.
    Stand fast upon His faithful word. We shall find it a firm foundation in the midst of the storm.

    PS your blog design is very familiar to me!

    malachi

  3. rkitts1 says:

    Brave post young man. I don’t really know how many people read your blog, but be ready for some backlash, lol. But that’s a good thing. I’m afraid Mr. Osteen thinks that he’s doing good deeds, but it just seems to me more like cookie-cutter preaching that goes on with many pastors of very large congregations. His message is an easy one to preach, which in itself is a red flag to me. No one will ever be “offended” by one of his sermons. I remember reading (I’m trying to remember) that Osteen said that he didn’t preach hell, because there were “others who did that better than him”, in actuallity if he did, he would probably have a great deal less success than he has, I’m afraid. I hope that I’m right when I say that he’s not aware of his mistakes, and that he really means well. I’m just afraid that he’s only teaching half of what needs to be taught. Good post, keep your faith close to you, sometimes it will be all that you have.

  4. Pastor Greg says:

    I am in full agreement. Mr. Osteen does not like to talk about sin. Jesus came into the world to redeem sinful humanity. He is close to the broken hearted–not just to those having a bad day. The true prosperity message is that the Father delivered his only son up to death for us.

    I’ve been warning my congregation against Osteen’s books. Thnaks for being truthful!

  5. Alan Higgins says:

    Excellent article. I hate his preaching too. I wrote about Joel at http://realchristianity.wordpress.com/2007/10/30/the-gospel-according-to-joel-osteen/

    What is so sad is that as you said, his heretical teaching will give people a false assurance that they are saved and will ultimately lead a lot of people to hell

  6. Carla Beth says:

    I found your website via Alan Higgins’ site, and job well done! Joel has this very warm charisma that draws people to him. I first saw him when I was channel surfing in Korea, looking for anything in English that I could watch. I’m normally turned off by mega-anything, especially churches. But despite his glossy preaching style, I welcomed what he had to say. I couldn’t connect with the local Christian churches, and I didn’t have a computer at the time. So hearing the gospel on television was pretty much all I had. In all honesty I was grateful. If he didn’t have that huge following, he wouldn’t have had the resources to be on Korean television, and I would have continued to drift in the Word, feeling increasingly disconnected. This isn’t to say that I disagree with your assessment of his preaching, but HATE is a bit too strong of a word choice in my opinion. I’m not a mushy-soft kind of Christian – I’m not hiding out from modern culture – but HATE is a word that just doesn’t fit with Christian living. Yes, it would sound rather lame to say blah-blah DISLIKE blah-blah-blah, but surely there’s a better way to express this sentiment? Back to Joel. Not so sure he’s leading people to hell. And I’m not so sure I’ve got it figured out over anyone else out there. God’s got the beef on this stuff, so I’m skimming off what works for me and letting the rest go. Also, most Christians (new and tenured) that I’ve met aren’t as naive and vulnerable as many people make them out to be. They are seekers, and their seeking isn’t exclusive to Joel. Anyway, your a welcome voice in Christian blogging. Love your masthead. Why not make it a link for your homepage and delete the HOME button up at the top? Great colors, too. Cheers!

  7. Chris says:

    Well, hmmm. I don’t agree with Osteen’s teaching/preaching as it is too “pop culture”. You could get nearly the same stuff from magazine on the newsstand.

    However, I’m not entirely sure I agree with all you posted here. (Not throwing stones really, just pointing out some things)

    1.) Osteen says that he believes hell is a real place and that it is separation from God. This is true, it is a real place and it is separation from God. So why doesn’t he warn people of this? – Is the purpose of coming to Christ the fear of Hell? Fear of separation from God? Anyone will “love” God if they’re afraid of Hell.
    2.) I think God wants us to be obedient to Him more than anything, as children to their Father – honoring their Father
    3.) I believe that he was under his father for so long, that he doesn’t know what true, Biblical, expository preaching is. He has never been to college, much less seminary, and so he has not had a chance to experience great men of faith who preach and teach the true purpose of the gospel.
    Easy there, hoss. :) Awful close to saying we need education to “correctly” preach the Bible. Really, all we need is the Holy Spirit. There’s been lots of pastors that have gotten more education, and lost their love for God.

    In Christ,
    Chris
    http://sharpeningiron.wordpress.com/

  8. Adam Smith says:

    Chris –

    Thank you for your comment. To clarify your points:

    1) I do think a minor reason to come to Christ is the fear of hell; however it is not the main reason, I don’t think; What I was trying to say here, is that the Bible teaches of hell, and yet from Mr. Osteen’s sermons, it is conspicuously absent. Of course the Bible teaches on many things that Mr. Osteen doesn’t but hell is where unsaved people will go, so my view is that this has to be a preaching point for pastors at some point. I will venture to say that if you ask anyone if they wanted to go to hell, that all would say no, so preachers (and we) must tell of the good news, that Jesus came to seek and to save the lost.

    2) Yes, I would agree that God wants us to be obedient and bring glory to Him.

    3) I realize now how what I said may have sounded, but it is not at all what I meant. Of course a person doesn’t have to have a college or seminary education to preach the gospel; my point here was to say that Mr. Osteen preaches the same way his father did, and (most likely) has never studied the ancient texts or heard classical historical preaching of the gospel, and that is his loss in my opinion.

    I hope what I said here makes sense in some way, as I am kind of “shooting from the hip” so to say.

    I do appreciate you pointing out areas of my writing that may be unclear though. Thanks!

    In Christ Alone for His glory,

    Adam

  9. Chris says:

    Yep. I hope I didn’t come across as critical…just posing some questions/thoughts.

    Chris
    http://sharpeningiron.wordpress.com/

  10. tastethesea says:

    Good post on Osteen’s false teachings…it made me think of something my previous pastor would say. Insead of calling it the “American Dream,” he called it the “American Hoax” – a thing that so many people have been swindled into believing is the goal. The goal, which is really the “high calling of God in Christ Jesus” as the Bible says in Phillipians 3:14.

  11. anglhugnu2 says:

    “…is it enough to just desire to (do what is) right? Is God really pleased with those who sin, but desire to do right?”

    If you are using the word desire in the same contexts as “wish” you would have a case concerning Joel Osteen’s preaching. For if all we do is wish to do right and continue a life of ill upon ourselves and others we’re sailing straight toward the hidden rocks of our misperceptions. What we will we do. What we wish we simply do not.

    I sense Osteen’s use of the word desire is based more on an active passion for wanting to participate in a relationship with God. Much like one lover desires the touch of the other. In such a relationship there is a quickening of the pulse and an urgency to become one with the other. ACTION is taken to experience the truth of that love. There is a certain “can’t wait to get home” just to be with him or her.

    The starting point of everything Osteen says begins with this simple notion (right or wrong..like it or not) that his audience is clearly aware of their being involved in a relationship with God. He strongly believes there are plenty of teachers, preachers, or speakers who will pound away and brow beat the congregation. Osteen, it seems, has chosen to be a “life coach;” one who encourages and affirms the giftedness and talent of the ones willing their Self to be a “better person.”

    Yes, Osteens latest book has a basic outline for how a person can improve how it is they love their Self. I am very certain every body loves their neighbor as their Self…it just isn’t all that great sometimes. Osteen wants others to know….how they love their self CAN improve…and the outcome of such an ACTION will become the great love of others.

    Everyone has a message they bring to the lives they touch. Some are very basic in their richness. Some are very basic in their richness yet they touch a huge number of others willing theirselves to feel a greater sense of enrichment and purpose. This IS where Osteen finds himself reaching deeper into the passion God has for each and everyone willing to do the same. Osteen is simply apply the love he has discovered between God and himself. The outcome seems to show others are feeling a deeper sense of wanting what Osteen is experiencing.

    Some will say “Life is not all peaches and cream.” And, from the context of the life most of us know, that seems very true. However, most of those who believe such will come to a point where the too will say “there has got to be a better way.” And, it will be in that moment where the basic outline of Osteen’s book comes into play. It may not word for you…or some body else…And, that is okay. Because you ARE some place else (good or bad) in your relationship with God.

    As we have found from our centuries of experiences, crafting a life outside of the love God delivers daily into our hands can be quite profoundly violent and depressing. It is only when we choose to desire to experience more deeply the passionate daily response of The One (God) who loves us WITHOUT BLEMISH do we desire to become more apart of that very love. We YEARN….we DESIRE…our heart quickens to LEARN more about what GOD is all about.

    Will we continue to believe in those things false or illusionary as we yearn for the greater love of God…of course. Why? Well, it is not because the love that created us has blemishes. BUT it IS because we continue to believe in what is a lie; we have all been taught Love of God is a threat to our version or vision of Love and Life. The perfect best example of this is our outlandish eating habits. We will only find true happiness only when we give up the ghost of our lies (that more food the better) will be happier and know ourselves to be a far better person that what we thought our Self to be.

    When we reach moments like these (and there are many) we will understand, appreciate and love more fully what The Final Judgement is all about; we are loved far great in Life than what we’d thought.

    AngllHugnU2
    Author of IM with God

  12. Adam Smith says:

    AngllHugnU2,

    Thank you for your comment on my blog; It is refreshing to hear from someone who has an intelligent opinion on the subject. I agree with what you said about “desire” and I hope that Mr. Osteen is using it in the correct context in this case.

    I do think that most of the people in Mr. Osteen’s church are believers, but I would venture to say that a lot (I don’t want to say most) of people that watch his broadcast are not saved, and so I believe that Mr. Osteen is presenting the wrong message of the Bible. The main message of the Bible is “Repent and Believe” and without doing that, there can be no sharing in the Father’s love.

    I can remember when I first watched Mr. Osteen and read his book; I did not know much about the Health, Wealth, and Prosperity (HWP) Gospel. I can remember specifically thinking something like “so that’s what its about…God is supposed to give me what I deserve.” Now I can answer that question a different way – what I deserve is eternal separation from God because of my sinful nature; but now that I have repented and believed I know that I will spend eternity with Him.

    A lot of what Mr. Osteen says is not necessarily wrong (though some of it is), but He is not taking a stand on the true message of the gospel (repent and believe), and that is what is dangerous for the people that watch him and miss that message of repentance.

    With all of the repent messages that John the Baptist preached, it is hard to see him preaching a message of prosperity. :)

  13. Chris says:

    Adam,

    I’ve been wondering a lot about this topic (Church preaching lately). I wonder if Church preaching should be “repent repent repent”….Because that leaves the believers with a false sense of problems in their life. (Now, this NOT talking about the believers who are sinning willfully), but the believers who are trying to live a holy life as described in Romans, 1 Corinthians, etc.

    Believers that know they are free and are mature and living beyond the “false need to repent” need to hear something else from time to time.

    The message of “repent repent repent” should be preached in the streets, the street corners, where the majority of lost people are, not in the Church where the majority of people probably really are saved (tho at much different levels of their Christian growth)

    In Christ,
    Chris

  14. Chris says:

    I am _NOT_ endorsing the prophet gospel or any gospel that teaches believers that they should expect everything to be rosy and jolly.

    The messages still have to come back to Christ and His work here on Earth and how we can further that work.

    Chris (again)

  15. Chris says:

    Ugh…did I really spell prophet instead of profit??

    Oh brother. Been a long day LOL

  16. Adam Smith says:

    Chris,

    No, I do not believe that “repent, repent, repent” should be the main topic in the church (however, it should be present from time to time). I would say that in most churches, the main body of people would be believers. Logic would tell me that unbelievers probably don’t get to church that often.

    My only point about Mr. Osteen is that his message seems to be the same day after day and day after day – how to get a better life… and that is just not the purpose of the gospel. Mr. Osteen’s messages NEVER address sin or any of the like, and that is where I believe he is providing a false sense of security for those who are not true believers.

    I hope this addresses your questions… talk about a long day… I hear you brother!

  17. GrandGizmo says:

    Well, of course! Most tele-evangelists wouldn’t be able to stay on television very long if they said what everyone didn’t want to hear. The fact is if you reject Jesus as Lord, you’re destined for the flames of Hell. Jesus already did enough already. He has given us grace. God has already allowed His Son Jesus Christ to be brutalized as a human being beyond anything we in modern times can comprehend, rejected by His own, be nailed to a cross for hours in the ultimate torture session imaginable, carry ALL OF OUR SINS on His own shoulders and paying the price for the sins of the entire world, dying finally and descending into Hell!!! But, the gates of hell could not hold Him long! He spent three days and three nights in Hell the Bible says! Do you think He was happy? Do you think He wasn’t suffering? While He was there He went defeated Death and Hell and He preached to the Old Testament saints! He conquered all things evil. You ever see Superman!? Well, Superman in fiction can’t hold a candle to Shiloh! Superman is a mouse compared to the heart of Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. He gave Himself for the world as a sacrifice! A lamb to the slaughter. That’s why He was crucified during passover. Sin? We all sin. Christians sin less and repent, but everybody’s got problems and weaknesses. However, when a man is saved, the beams are gone, but the splinters remain. No man is good. We all fall short the Glory of God.

  18. GrandGizmo says:

    I don’t think people fully understand what Jesus did on the cross. I don’t think they fully understand that He spent three days and three nights in Hell. I don’t think they even realize the infinite love and compassion of Our Lord. I don’t they really know just how AWESOME He is! A few know, but not many. They think He just died on that cross, but He didn’t. He also carried the sins of the world. He also died and went to Hell and defeated Hell and Hades. He also made a way for the Old Testament saints! He did all that for us not because it was easy. Not because He got anything out of it, but because HE LOVES US! He loves us always!

  19. GrandGizmo says:

    Jesus wants us there with Him in Heaven! He wants all of you there with Him in heaven. We wants us all in Heaven with Him. Jesus loves us so much!

  20. Adam Smith says:

    To GrandGizmo and anyone else,

    Jesus did NOT descend into hell. There is not one place in the Bible that says that.

  21. Greetings Adam. There are those, not considered on the heretical side either, that feel that the reference in Ephesians 4:8-10 is where Christ descended into the lower parts of the earth (Paradise) and relieved the souls of the old testament saints that were in bondage to death.

    The setting of this lower part is believed to be describe in the 16th chapter of the gospel of Luke ‘the rich man and Lazarus’, the thief that died on the cross that acknowledged that Jesus was who he said he was, to which Christ told him “today thou shalt be with me in paradise”.

    Some have alluded to the reference in Colossians 2:15 where he (Christ) spoiled principalities and powers, he mad a show of them openly, triumphing over them in it. One could only imagine that when Christ came down to deliver the souls of “those who through fear of death were all their lifetime subject to bondage”, quite a triumph for Lazarus, prophets, OT patriarchs, etc….

    What are your thoughts?

    Peace malachi

  22. Adam Smith says:

    Brother Malachi,

    I am going to offer a quick, insufficient reply here. I am in the midst of finals in my last semester of college, so I will plan to research this topic further after I get out.

    Here are my spur of the moment thoughts. When saying hell, one has to be careful as there are different words for this place (Sheol, Gehenna, Hades), so we have to be specific in our exact meanings. I also believe that there are (or at least in this time were) “compartments” of hell.

    I will repeat my earlier sentiment: It is a misinterpretation to say that Jesus descended into hell.

    When I can get into this deeper, my research verses will be the ones you mentioned and a few more: Eph. 4:8-10, Col. 2:14-15, 1 Peter 3:18-19, Matt. 12:40, and probably some more once I can grab a concordance.

    I do know this for sure though: hell is a literal place and those who have not repented of their sins and placed their full trust in Jesus Christ will end up there when they physically die.

    I thank God for my salvation and for His gracious gift to me of eternal life (that is putting it lightly).

    Under the bondage of college finals (but free from the bondage of sin),

    Adam

  23. Jim M. says:

    Adam: Great article about Osteen. When I lived in Houston, before he was famous, I exposed several of his errors, and tried to get them public thru the Bible Answer Man show (which a friend knew of–not myself).

    If your beliefs are consistent with those expressed in your article, you may want to read (and link to) WillYHouLiveForever.org, coming online this weekend.

    You’ll rarely be praised (i.e., by men) for pointing out error, but will always be blessed for so doing! (i.e., by God) In Him, Jim M.

  24. Greg says:

    This is an important article. We are living in a time when Christians are very undiscerning about a teacher who says “good” things, but doesn’t tell them the truth. Ever since Adam and Eve ate from the Tree of the Knowledge of Good and Evil, mankind has been tryint to do good. Joel is not leading people back to the tree of life, but is encouraging people to eat from the wrong tree.

    • Jeanette Brunet says:

      After being in his church this weekend, and seeing him preach live for the first time, I am in total agreement with you, Greg. It was all about the person and success in his dreams, not about Jesus Christ or salvation. Thanks

  25. Very well said.

  26. anglhugnu2 says:

    What seems difficult for many Christians to come to understand and appreciate is the very unconditional way in which they are loved by God. I do not consider my Self an Osteen apologist. I have heard Osteen repeatedly explain publicly the simplicity of his message to be full of exhortations and encouraging remarks that affirms every persons ability to accept the unconditional reality that ALL persons have been gifted to succeed–to know God and Love.

    I would imagine the “truth” most persons THINK they want to hear from the pulpit is the same truth that becomes the excuse for why they have yet to enjoy fully their own inherent giftedness. To use the greatness handed down to them from God is supplanted by the belief of “No body is perfect.” All to often, the notion that “all are sinners” gets translated into “I can’t become anybody a anyone can love.”

    Believing this to be the way love and life is supposed to work is the underpinning for why most Christians live a co-dependent and less fulfilling life than what has been created for them from the very beginning.

    AngllHugnU2
    Author of IM with God

    • mark says:

      AngllHugnU2…..I appreciate your comment in “Christ” name…..Although you are a perfect example of what adam is saying… You never mention Jesus Christ in your post either… There will be a time, which may have already began, that Christians will take Jesus Christ off the Cross, that he did not conquer death and profess he was not the son of our living GOD. Perhaps most will believe him the Jesus Christ of the Koran. There is a growing number of so-called Christians who believe him not the son of GOD and a large number of Mustlims who believe Jesus Christ will come back and profess that he is not the son of GOD and announce he is converting to Islam. Preach on Jesus Christ christians, through HIM is the only way to GOD

  27. molly says:

    Joel Osteen is a good man & a good preacher with more common sense then most ignorant babbling bible thumpers. I hate when churches/preachers try to scare people to God. Would you want your kids to love you because they were afraid if they didn’t youd banish them. Or do you want them to love you because they “LOVE YOU” a you make them happy! Love isn’t fear. Joel Osteen is wiser than most chritians.

  28. harlan says:

    Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!! this fraud is a MAJOR poser as a prophet when underneath the smooth
    and shrewd dude is a MAJOR profit seeker.

  29. [...] and all that stuff. I was gonna do a long blog rant, why I don’t like the guy but I think this blog already did it for me. That’s a great blog post that I agree with totally. So no need for a [...]

  30. Jeanette Brunet says:

    Thank you for this. I have never been a fan of Joel Osteen’s preaching. I feel very much the way you do. This weekend our church sent us to Houston to a Celebrate Recovery Seminar, at, where else? Lakewood Church. We attended a service on Saturday night preached by Joel Osteen. I prayed for God to show me if my thinking was wrong about him. I asked for guidance to discern. And I left there feeling that Osteen’s preaching is not something I should follow. He emphasized on “there is a Yes in your future, you just have to get through all of the NOs”.
    Again, thanks for your post. I am still not a fan of Osteen.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

